The Union Territory of Arunachal Pradesh became a full-fledged State with effect from 20th February, 1987.

The Cooperative Movement was launched in the erstwhile Union Territory of NEFA way back in the year, 1957 with registration of Pasighat Cooperative General Stores Ltd., Pasighat in Siang District (Re-christened East Siang District) for the upliftment of the weaker Sections of the society and more particularly to cater to the consumers need of the tribal population and Government employees because they could not avail the benefits of the marketing facilities due to non-access to the nearby markets of neighbouring State of Assam owing to communication snags.Soon, it spread over different aspects and sectors such as Agriculture, Horticulture, Poultry, Fisheries, Transport, Handloom and Handicraft,Industrial, Marketing and Processing, Tea, Housing and Credit etc

Initially, the State had adopted the Cooperative Societies Act, 1912. Subsequently, State enacted its own Law "The Arunachal Pradesh Cooperative Societies Act, 1978 and Arunachal Pradesh Cooperative Societies Rules, 1982". At present all the cooperative societies are registered in the State of Arunachal Pradesh under the said Act and are governed under the provisions of the Arunachal Pradesh Cooperative Societies Act, 1978 and Arunachal Pradesh Cooperative Societies Rules,1982 made thereunder.


To empower isolated individuals who are individually weak, to come together in a democratic manner on the basis of equality to achieve the common economic interest through cooperation.


The primary object of the Department of Cooperation is to see that the Cooperative Societies are organized and managed on the lines of basic cooperative principles for the promotion of the economic interests and welfare of the people and to render guidance and assistance for development of cooperative movement in the State.


1. To promote, expand and to strengthen all walks of life in the State.
2. To facilitate formation of new cooperative societies to meet the economic needs of their members.
3. To facilitate successful working of cooperative institutions in tune with the Internationally recognized principles of cooperation keeping in view the needs of the members; and
4. To be friend, philosopher and guide to the cooperative institution in managing their affairs on sound and professional lines.


To build a sustained, self reliant and successful cooperative for the promotion of economic interest and welfare of the members of the cooperative societies.


1. Voluntary and open membership
2. Democratic Member control
3. Member economic participation
4. Autonomy and Independence
5. Education, Training and Information
6. Cooperation among Cooperatives
7. Concern for Community


In order to provide efficient services to the local population and have better control over the functioning of the societies, the department has set up offices and placed the officers in the cadre of DRCS/ARCS in the district.